Thoughtfactory: Leica poetics

Leica, film, snaps, chronicles, cliches

rock detail

A colleague vey  kindly donated me some 35mm rolls of expired Fuji Velvia 50 transparency  film amongst a bundle of various other kinds of film for me  to use. The rationale was that it was better to use them than leave them sitting in the freezer.  Fuji had stopped producing Velvia 50 in the 1st decade of the 21st century, so the film is quite old. 

 I  played around  or experimented with one roll once I realised that the E6  process was still available  in Adelaide.( But for how long I wondered).   I noted in the earlier  post that my images didn't pop with intense  color and vibrance. Many were  just flat and dull.  However, the occasional one turned out to be quite  interesting, such as this  one: 

The processed film's magenta cast works with these coastal  rocks  near Petrel Cove, as they  occasionally have an orange tint in certain  kinds of lighting situations.  It  did take  me a while though  to  come to terms with the odd /strange/quality, as the "unrealness"  wasn't what I'd expected from habitually using a digital camera.  

As an experiment I did a straight conversion to b+w in order  to see  if the abstraction from colour  would add anything to the image,  as this sometimes works with colour negative film. 

It didn't  in this instance.  The rocks  look dull and flat.  This kind of conversion/abstraction is really a nonstarter  as it eliminates  the characteristics and strength of Fuji Velvia 50, namely its intense or strongly saturated colour.  

So the idea with the next experimental roll  is to narrow the focus to concentrate on  colour and see what happens.