Thoughtfactory: Leica poetics

Leica, film, snaps, chronicles, cliches

White Island, New Zealand

I visited Whakaari/White Island  in the Bay of Plenty,  prior to attending Photobook/NZ  in Wellington in 2018. 

Suzanne and I were on a weeks holiday in the North Island,  which included exploring the GeoThermal Highway.  White Island was where we started the exploration. After the holiday  Suzanne then went on to  walk the Grand Traverse  in the South Island,  whilst I stayed in an Air BnB in  the Te Aro Valley  in  Wellington. I spend the  week walking  and photographing around the city for the Reconnections project.    

I could only go to White Island in a party  organised by the local  tourist operators at Whakatane.  I was lucky to make  it to island,   due to a cyclone that had swept across this part of the island a couple of weeks earlier.  It   flooded  the Whakatane River,  littered the mouth of the river  with  the trunks and branches  of trees upstream,  and made the swells around the island too dangerous  for the boats to  land. 

I  was  on the first boat for a couple of weeks. I was lucky with my booking.  The island is a live volcano  and the tour operators were very strict about where you could walk whilst on the island.  Wandering off the pathway to take photos of what caught my eye was not allowed for safety reasons. It was too dangerous.