Thoughtfactory: Leica poetics

Leica, film, snaps, chronicles, cliches

eucalyptus abstractions

The picture below is an abstraction of a section of the trunk of an eucalyptus tree in the Veale Gardens section of the Adelaide parklands in South Australia. It was  made using  an old Leica rangefinder camera from the 1980s ---- a M4-P with a 50mm Summicron prime lens.   This  very basic and simple film camera (manual focus, no light meter)  is the complete opposite to  the modern technology of contemporary digital cameras (Sony, Canon, Nikon).  

I  had some time on my hands that afternoon, so I  wandered around looking at the tracks of the various eucalypts.  I was looking for the possibilities for abstraction.  The colours of this  particular  trunk caught my eye. 

It was the same with the trunk of this neighbouring eucalyptus  tree:

I had never really noticed the differences in these eucalyptus trunks before, even though I'd often walked along  this strand of trees whilst on my way to walk and photograph in Adelaide's CBD.    When I looked closely the differences were quite marked. 

I wondered: how could I have not noticed these differences before? Did I not pride myself on having a photographic eye. It was as if I'd walked past these eucalyptus trees with my eyes closed. Or rather, I looked at them as I walked past but I didn't notice their trunks.