Thoughtfactory: Leica poetics

Leica, film, snaps, chronicles, cliches

b+w poetics #4

This is another picture in my little  experiment   in  a black and white poetics:

The picture  is of a small salt pan near Petrel Cove on the southern Fleurieu Peninsula. It was made in the summer of 2023. The two earlier pictures in the experiment are here and here  

I hadn't  been thinking in terms of a b+w poetic series when I was making these pictures.   I was more concerned to train myself to re-see  in black and white photography after several years of working in digital colour. I was learning to get my eye in. 

 I had been having little success with digital black and white and I wanted to avoid the  technical stuff that comes with a digital camera.  So it was back to basics  to explore and developing a  b+w poetics using  one type of  film (Kodak T Max 400) and one camera (Leica M4).