Thoughtfactory: Leica poetics

Leica, film, snaps, chronicles, cliches

at Wilsons Promontory + memories

In the summer of  2023  I spent a week walking in Wilsons Promontory in Victoria with the Retire Active Bush Walking Group ( ARPA).  It was their summer camp. The solo walk that  I did on the day off from the group walks was to revisit the western foreshore/littoral zone  of the Corner Inlet Marine and Coastal Park. 

The walk along   this coastline was return visit.   I'd explored  it   some 15 or more years  earlier,  and I was  reconnecting with  some fragmentary memories  from that time. I vaguely remember this  was  part of a road trip to Mallacoota.    

I  remember  staying in a basic cabin at  the Wilsons Prom Holiday Park, which  had  a very rudimentary  wi fi   that could  I access with a MacBook. The caravan owners were rather unhappy about me uploading digital images to a blog.  I also remember  loading colour film in  the Rolleiflex SL66  after a 15 year period of not using the camera,  and  then being rather  jubilant that I remembered how to do it. I'd decided to  return to film photography.  

I also recall that I photographed the permanent caravan sites with their attached huts or rooms.   There were next to no people around  the caravan park and I fantasized about returning in the summer  peak to photograph  people holidaying.   That  kind of documentary project never happened. Wilsons Prom was just  too far away from Adelaide. 

Strange what you remember.   

It was quite hot and sunny on the day of my revisit in 2023.There was no  cloud cover and  I spent as much  time  as I could, looking for and being   in the open  shade.   I had the coastline to myself as  there was  nobody  else walking along the shoreline,  even though the central part of Wilsons Prom was jam packed with people. They were all  around the Tidal River area.  The Corner Inlet  shoreline was not a popular tourist site.